10 lessons life has taught me – lesson 6

Lesson 6 – You don’t have to win every argument, sometimes you need to surrender (you know who’s right)

I like to have my say in a discussion and give my ten cents worth, as much as the next person. However, I do not enjoy getting into heated debates with others about topics such as non-essential religious doctrines or politics. I will usually keep my views on controversial matters to myself, unless I am in very familiar company.

When it comes to discussing and debating issues with my husband, however, I will defend my ideas, beliefs and position to the death – well almost… My husband is also very opinionated when it comes to defending his thoughts and ideas. As a result, while we get along really well most of the time, we have had a number of heated discussions over the years with neither of us willing to surrender. Mostly, we would eventually end up agreeing to disagree to keep the peace or not talking until we cooled down.

20130503-204301.jpg

Well, wisdom has a way of dawning upon us as we grow up and mature causing us to see the folly of arguing over things that really don’t matter in the long term. I have been blessed with enough wisdom to now see the futility of having to win an argument, and also the futility of arguing at all. I really don’t always have to give my opinion on a topic.

I am pleased to say that these days I will more often simply keep my mouth closed or even just agree to save an argument over unimportant matters. It saves wasting a lot of emotional energy, creates a more peaceful home and hey, I know who’s right!

20130503-204513.jpg

Thank you for taking the time to read this blog. Blessings, Lynda.

 

About leeslynda

I am an educator, counsellor, minister, writer and aspiring author. I am on a quest to transform my life - more fun, more family, more living life and more spirituality - so here goes!
This entry was posted in Christian, Family Things, Life lessons, Lifestyle and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

